What is the TPPA?


The Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA) is a free trade agreement (FTA) which involves a variety of socioeconomic policy issues. Currently it has 12 prospective member countries: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the US and Vietnam. Membership in the TPPA is open to all 21 member states of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (Apec).

The TPPA was reached on October 5, 2015 in Atlanta, the US, after seven years of negotiations. It is different from any previously known FTAs; this is best illustrated by the TPPA content. The structure of TPPA chapters can be divided into three categories (Table 1).

To read the rest of the article and to access our e-Archive, subscribe to us for RM150 a year.

Related Articles