Remember the city status of George Town


George Town is a city. That has been a fact since Jan 1 1957. It does not matter that this has been forgotten or ignored by officialdom. To save money and time, all that needs to be done now is for Penang's government and people to acknowledge that fact in action and words.

ACCORDING TO the Ministry of Housing and Local Government, there are 12 cities in Malaysia. They are Alor Setar, Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur, Petaling Jaya, Shah Alam, Malacca, Johore Bahru, Kuala Trengganu, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching North, Kuching South and Miri. George Town is not on the list.

But George Town is a city. It has been one since Jan. 1, 1957, and there has been no official order retracting its city status. It is unfortunate that the ministry and, by extension, the federal government, have chosen to ignore a simple historical fact.

To read the rest of the article and to access our e-Archive, subscribe to us for RM150 a year.

Related Articles

Jul 2015

Let’s clean up our island city

With Penang's upgrade to city status, it's time to upgrade its level of cleanliness as well.

Feb 2015

No automatic new start for Penang as a city

Penang is on its way to becoming a city– again. However, this does not mean that improvements will happen overnight.

Dec 2014

What can we obey if we cannot obey simple municipal rules?

Without proper civic consciousness, we cannot truly be proud of our cities.