Local government in Malaysia: Types, functions, organisation, members and budget


The local government or local authority, or “pihak berkuasa tempatan”, is the lowest level in the hierarchy of governance in Malaysia, after federal and state. The position of local governments in Malaysia is stated in the Federal Constitution. According to items four and five of the Ninth Schedule of the Federal Constitution, local governments other than those in the Federal Territories (KL, Labuan and Putrajaya) are subjects under the state list, and are therefore directly under the exclusive jurisdiction of the state government. There are currently 149 local authorities, consisting of 12 city halls/councils, 39 municipal councils, 98 district councils and five special and modified local authorities.

To read the rest of the article and to access our e-Archive, subscribe to us for RM150 a year.

Related Articles

Jan 2014


This issue, we provide some legal stats.

Mar 2015

Penang’s aviation and maritime sectors by the numbers

As a supplement to this month’s cover story on economic indicators, we examine Penang’s aviation and maritime industries which contribute significantly toward the state’s performance in tourism and trade.