Penang’s mainland – Seberang Perai by the numbers


Breaking Seberang Perai down by the numbers.

The recent Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat by-election and announcement of the Penang Sky Cab cable car system have cast the national spotlight onto Seberang Perai. Let’s take a look at the mainland’s geographical and population demographics.

Physical geography

Province Wellesley, now known as Seberang Perai, was ceded by the Sultan of Kedah to the British East India Company in 1786. It was named after Richard Wellesley, the British Governor of Madras and later the Governor-General of India. Today, Penang is divided into five administrative districts, Timur Laut (North-East) and Barat Daya (South-West) on the island, and Seberang Perai Utara (North), Seberang Perai Tengah (Central) and Seberang Perai Selatan (South) on the mainland.

To read the rest of the article and to access our e-Archive, subscribe to us for RM150 a year.

Related Articles