The Numbers on Malaysia’s 14th General Election


The 14th General Election (GE14), held on May 9, saw the first-ever change in ruling government. Compared with the last general election, the outgoing ruling government, BN, suffered a historic loss of 55 parliamentary seats, gaining only 79 seats in GE14.

The Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition and its ally, Parti Warisan (Warisan), on the other hand, won 121 parliamentary seats, with a slim majority to form a government. PAS, being separated from the PH coalition in GE14, consolidated its winning power in Kelantan and Terengganu by gaining 18 seats in parliament.

To read the rest of the article and to access our e-Archive, subscribe to us for RM150 a year.

Related Articles